Ready Writer

My heart is inditing a good matter: I speak of the things which I have made touching the king: my tongue is the pen of a ready writer… Psalm 45:1 King James Version

Lord, when I languish in laziness, let me leap toward liveliness. Let me not rest in reason, but wrestle for righteousness. Give me not only the pen of a ready writer but the purpose of a ready rider; galloping with the Gospel of God’s plan, despite the siren call to silence.

Let a song of praise erupt from Your River of reserve, removing the rust and residue of reticence and regret. It is Your Day and Your Way!

Cleanse me from secret sins and silly whims. Impede impulse and let my will wilt and my “better” yield to Your Best. I yield inadequacy to your advocacy.

Let Your Gifts trump my talents and Your enablement my accomplishments. I embrace Your Provision in every decision. Let me stretch the rod of faith over the water of Your Purpose so that You may part the Pathway to Promise. Let my pulpit not be about prominence but purpose; my congregation consists of You and me. Let my words fall limp and Yours leap!

I give You this day in acknowledgement that it is the one You have made. So hide me under the shadow of Your shoulder; take me from shyness to boldness. Woo me to trust a bit more, to sprint a bit faster, to stretch a bit farther, to cry a bit deeper, to sing a bit louder, and to love a lot more than I possibly can without You.

There rings no “amen” that can append; as my heart hurls forth torrents of words, inadequately expressing my eagerness to become what You want me to be… more like You!

What is the temperature of your passion for the Lord? What are the things that impede that pathway to free expression? How do you express that passion? Are there experiences that  have brought you to a freer expression of that passion? Are you enticed to seek for more intimacy with Him? How do you envision that happening?

 (edited 6/28/2016)

Leave a Reply

