The Revealing, Healing God

“If anyone is ill he should send for the Church elders. They should pray over him, anointing him with oil in the Lord’s name. Believing prayer will save the sick man; the Lord will restore him and any sins that he has committed will be forgiven. You should get into the habit of admitting your sins to each other, and praying for each other, so that if sickness comes to you, you may be healed.

Tremendous power is made available through a good man’s earnest prayer. Do you remember Elijah? He was a man like us but he prayed earnestly that it should not rain. In fact, not a drop fell on the land for three and a half years. Then he prayed again, the heavens gave the rain and the earth sprouted with vegetation as usual.” James 5:15 J.B. Phillips New Testament translation

Thursday night at the Summit of Bayside weekly meeting I went up to receive communion, anointing with oil and prayer. I hobbled into the meeting with severe pain in my right hip area. I had suddenly developed what I believe to have been severe tendonitis in the right hip the day before. The reason I concluded that it was tendonitis is that I had it in my left hip some years ago. It lasted for what I remember as weeks. Sometimes I could barely get into my car.

By this morning ALL PAIN AND DISCOMFORT are gone! I don’t even remember who prayed for me, but she also had a strong word over me about new things beginning. It was just yesterday that I also sold a fine art print, the first in years!

I’ve been a believer for 63 years! I’ve always believed in healing, even physical! I always pray, almost daily, for my litany of ills: Nearly deaf left ear, right foot drop (from a skill saw accident at 18), arthritis in neck, sleep apnea, and even the repopulation of my frontal thinning hair! Yeah, I do that!

And my conditions pale in comparison to friends and acquaintances whose needs range from near death to cancer. But God is not keeping score of how our needs compare to other people’s needs. And most of the time He chooses not to heal us physically. And, no, it is mostly NOT because we had too little faith or too much sin!

His desire revolves around wanting to REVEAL more than to HEAL! And sometimes He chooses to HEAL in order to REVEAL. And sometimes He  REVEALS and HEALS. And most of the time I don’t know WHAT He is doing!

But I do know that He enjoins us to trust Him for DAILY manna and not to be caught up in storing up His provision for the rainy day. He promises to rain on us daily. That rain may not contain the provision we had hoped and prayed for, but it is PERFECT for His PURPOSES on any of those particular days!

So let us not begin a new movement based on what His latest provision is to us. Let us simply rejoice that He showed up with a glimpse of glory to remind us of His loving intentions in bringing us into deeper connection with Him and each other.

“Thank You, Lord, for healing my right hip. Thank You for reminding me of Your new purposes in my life today. Thank You for this new, loving body of single believers. Amen!”

Since this post (as of March 21, 2015) other doors have opened in the design arena plus a free Facebook art page advertising, further confirming the word of “new beginnings”!

(edited 6/28/2016)

One thought on “The Revealing, Healing God

Leave a Reply

