Cinderella Ball

Whittled Word for July 7, 2005

You filled aroma’s room,
Like roses blush in bloom.
I sidled to your side,
With heart, that could not hide.
My soul, you did enthrall
At Cinderella’s Ball.

With hesitant embrace,
While waiting in your place;
On cheek a gentle kiss,
The words, “It’s you I miss!”
My soul, you did enthrall
At Cinderella’s Ball.

You deftly dared to dance:
Inviting chosen chance!
With trembling hand around,
Soul synergy we found.
My soul, you did enthrall
At Cinderella’s Ball.

With ardent gazes locked,
The passing time was blocked.
And gone were fumbling feet;
Our hearts now felt the beat.
My soul, you did enthrall
At Cinderella’s Ball.

Our beating hearts were one,
And future’s fate undone;
For time had lost its grip
And launched on timeless trip!
My soul, you did enthrall
At Cinderella’s Ball.

This event was the first time I had felt the magic of the dance; as I joined a close friend on the dance floor for the last waltz of the evening. Having been raised with a “no dancing” religious restriction, and yet, to have learned to ballroom dance at an acceptable level in a bit over a year was astounding in itself. As the dance progressed, I sensed the people in the room fading from view! It was my first experience with the true magic of the dance; and, although it came to mean only what it meant, it was an experience to look back on with much fondness and wonder!

(edited 6/28/2016)

Leave a Reply

